did you miss me?

Blogging is one of those things I could take or leave, and of late, I’ve been leaving it. I honestly didn’t intend to take the last month or so off from blogging, I just couldn’t find the time – and when I did have the time, I didn’t have the ambition. I think this largely had to do with my mood. Life can be hectic at times, and the last couple months have been exactly that.

At least things are coming to a sustainable pace. We’re in our new home, and only days away from throwing a housewarming party. That doesn’t mean we’re completely settled, it just means we’re as close as we’re going to be before Spring gets here.

Work has been a little stressful these past couple months as well. You may think that has more to do with the economy,  and to some degree I guess it does. Mostly it’s because I’ve been moved to a new team. There was an opening and I was asked if I’d be interested in moving positions. The only real issue is the transition period. Instead of making a clean break from one team to the other, I’ll be slowly transitioning over the next 6 months. So that means I’ll be on both teams in a 50/50 role. That also means trying to please two managers…sounds like the perfect storm, doesn’t it?

On the plus side, I’ve missed a few days of work due to a two week cold from hell. Why is it I always catch a cold this time of  year? I just can’t seem to catch a break…but I’m not complaining. Things are still good…

Other than these few busy, non-fun things, I’ve also had a few positive things to keep me busy. I just joined a new book club for software developers in the Cedar Rapids area. I look forward to learning a few new things because of this experience.

I’ve also had the chance to work on a couple of freelance projects. This of course means higher earnings (on the side), and who doesn’t like a little extra money.

So now that I’m out of excuses, I’ll see if I can find some additional time to blog about the family, and hopefully a few technology things. Check back and let me know if you want to hear anything specific.

– the UB

About urbanbigfoot

I live in Cedar Rapids, IA with my wife Anna and two children, Cameron & Zoe. I'm a Sr. Programmer Analyst for AEGON USA Investment Management, LLC where I develop n-tier .NET Web Applications for Investment Management (specifically Derivatives). I love the outdoors, especially when hiking or mt. biking. I won't bore you with any additional details, you'll have to read my blog to learn more about who I am. View all posts by urbanbigfoot

Leave a comment